I pray they remember the good days…

I love my kids, more than most anything.  They mean the world to me…and I would be lost without them.  However, there are days when I pray that God would shield them from my parenting mistakes and help them to only remember the good.

I actually have hope that this is possible.  I have asked my Grandma countless times about her trials of raising 6 boys, virtually by herself, as my Grandpa was on the road working most of the time to provide for this large family.  She has always maintained that she doesn’t remember the hard times, or the frustration, she only remembers the laughing and wrestling (that was a pastime in their home, every meal was followed by a wrestling match in the living room between Grandpa and 6 boys, Grandma placed herself firmly in front on the television and near the lamp with a broom stick and whacked them to keep them from breaking something).

I think about the life she lived and know there must have been hard times.  Harder than I could ever imagine, yet she doesn’t remember them.  All she remembers is the good.  If you ask my Dad, or any of his brothers, they state the same.  Sure they are full of hysterical stories about pranks and the ornery stunts they pulled…but they never speak of yelling or anger…just happiness, love and hard work.

Even I, when I think back to my childhood only remember good times.  I know I broke rules and got into trouble, I know that my parents spanked us when we needed it.  But I cannot vividly remember one of those instances.  Why is that?  Is it just because the good out weighs the not so great?  I can’t ever say I had it bad (I have wonderful parents who I love more than I can even explain with words), and to be honest I am thankful for my parents view on discipline.  I know that the way I was raised has made me who I am today.  I appreciate that they gave us boundaries…they expected us to be polite and respectful of others, to show love and to work hard.

I pray that I can pass on half of these things to my children.  However, on those days when my voice seems to rise with each passing moment and I get so frustrated with the every day…I pray that my children would only remember the great times, the laughter and the good times.  The times we snuggled up to read a book together, singing songs, playing games and running outside.  I pray the remember the times when I really stopped to listen to what they were saying, rather than hurrying them along to get everything on my agenda accomplished. 

Why is it so hard to slow down and enjoy the real blessings in our lives?  Why can’t we just stop and enjoy our kids being kids?  They won’t stay little very long, and some day I know I’ll wish these days back. 

Lord, please let them remember the good times, the fun and the love.  Lord, please block out the days I yell and fuss at them over silly things, block out the times when I put them off so I can get one more menial task completed before I give them a few minutes of myself.  Help me to stop the daily grind and to really play with them.  Help me take the time to talk to them, and to really listen.  Help me make them feel as important as they are to me!

About heather327

I am married to the love of my life, Aaron. We have 3 beautiful, but exhausting children, Hayden, Katie and Emilie. Aaron works very hard, so that I am able to be home with our children. I am very blessed, eventhough some days I would LOVE to go to a job where I could actually talk an adult...any adult!! :) Not really, I feel incredible blessed and am so thankful that I can be home with them, especially while they are little!!
This entry was posted in Kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I pray they remember the good days…

  1. Mylene says:

    Because, if you took the time that they deserve, you would be a grandparent. That is why God gives children grandparents, they have all the time in the world for them. They don’t have to worry about all the medical bills, school, groceries, you know all the things kids need daily.
    One of these days you will understand but it is a very long time in the future. You are a wonderful mom (and Aaron is a wonderful dad), don’t worry, they will remember the good times and forget the bad times.
    Mylene

    • heather327 says:

      thanks Mylene! You are such an amazing encourager!! I appreciate you so much!! I believe that they will… we had a great day today, playing outside and doing all sorts of things, they had a great day. My house is still a wreck, but I love these days the most! 🙂

  2. stemmefamily says:

    I feel the same way and I am not around them all day like you are! Some days I’m not sure that I’m going to make it but then they run to me and give me a huge hug and cover my face with slobbery kisses and I know that it is all worth it. I just have to continue to pray for the patience necessary to raise them 😀

    • heather327 says:

      Be careful praying for patience. I have found that when I pray for it, that is when it’s tested the most, “to help me build it.” I do think my frustration is compounded by being home with them all day every day. I love being able to be home with my kids, but at the same time it can be really difficult!! Keep it up…you are doing a great job, Tara!

Leave a comment